Two exceptional laborers are among the recipients of the 2023 Outstanding Public Officials and Employees (Dangal ng Bayan) Award, announced Civil Service Commission (CSC) Chairperson Karlo Nograles.

Bernardino D. Dabuet, a Utility Worker II at the National Food Authority (NFA), will be commended for demonstrating professionalism and excellence in service through innovative and creative approaches, earning him the nickname "The Engineer" among his peers at the NFA.

Beyond Dabuet’s primary responsibilities encompassing electrical work, carpentry, landscaping, and plumbing, he extends his support to forklift operation, machine maintenance, driving, and various other tasks. His versatile skill set has significantly reduced labor costs for the NFA.

Another awardee is Fernando S. Viado, who serves as Administrative Aide VI (Mechanic II) at the City Government of Antipolo. He will be honored for his unwavering dedication to public service. Renowned as the indispensable figure for preventive maintenance and upkeep of the city's motor vehicles, Viado remains steadfast in his commitment to serve in the public sector despite lucrative job offers from private entities. In spite of facing partial deafness due to a work-related incident, he continues to excel in his role within the city government.

"Alongside eight other recipients of the Dangal ng Bayan award, these two individuals have exemplified what it means to go above and beyond the call of duty. They did not let their personal limitations prevent them from satisfactorily meeting—even exceeding—the requirements of their jobs,” announced Chairperson Nograles.

Completing the list of 2023 Dangal ng Bayan awardees are:

  • Nutritionist-Dietician III Eleonor B. Ayan of the Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD) Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR) in Baguio City;
  • School Principal II Mary Hazel B. Ballena of the Department of Education (DepEd) Schools Division of Abra in Bangued, Abra;
  • Disability Affairs Officer III Rex A. Bernardo of the Provincial Government of Camarines Norte in Daet, Camarines Norte;
  • Social Welfare Officer I Bernardo T. Cadaon Jr. of DSWD CAR in Baguio City;
  • Special Education Teacher I Gay D. Galdo of DepEd - Division of Davao Oriental in Mati, Davao Oriental;
  • Information Technology Officer I Fritz J. Juele of DepEd Schools Division of Roxas City in Roxas City, Capiz;
  • Head Teacher III Glenny E. Laping of DepEd Lapu-Lapu Division Office in Lapu-Lapu City, Cebu; and
  • Master Teacher II Querino D. Lonsagon of DepEd Division of Ozamiz City in Carangan, Ozamiz City.

These 10 individuals will be conferred with the Dangal ng Bayan Award during the Awards Rites for the 2023 Search for Outstanding Government Workers, which will be held on 14 February 2024, 2 p.m. at the Malacañan Palace. The ceremony will be streamed live via the Radio Television Malacañang Facebook Page at and CSC Facebook Page at

The Dangal ng Bayan Award is conferred on an individual for performance of extraordinary act of public service and consistent demonstration of exemplary ethical behavior of an official or employee based on the eight norms of conduct provided under Republic Act No. 6713.

The full list of the awardees of the 2023 Search for Outstanding Government Workers is posted on the CSC website.

Meanwhile, submission of nominations for the 2024 Search for Outstanding Government Workers is ongoing. The deadline for online submission of nominations is on 31 March 2024.

For the complete details on the annual Search for Outstanding Government Workers, contact the Honor Awards Program Secretariat at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or the CSC’s Contact Center ng Bayan at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or text 0908-881-6565.