The Civil Service Comission Regional Office (CSC RO) XII was established in 1975 during the Chairmanship of Jacobo C. Clave, the first CSC Chairman under the New Society. This was the year where this region was in the height of turmoil and served as active base of the secessionist movement of the Philippines. This was the period where the government service was perceived as weak, if not non-existent. It was compounded by the reality that despite the regionalization of public offices in the country, Region XII remained to have no CSC Regional Office to call its own.

In response to the clamour therefore considering that the CSC Regional Office in Davao was far too expensive for employees to transact business with, there is a need to bring the government nearer and more responsive to the expectation of its clientele. Linda Untal Ampatuan, a former delegate to the Constitutional Convention of 1971 who represented the lone district of Cotabato, was appointed as the first Regional Director of CSC RO XII on November 15, 1975. She trailblazed the establishment of CSC in Region XII.

On November 16, 1975, she was air-bound to Cotabato City with boxes of service cards and office supplies with neither office equipment nor office space to transfer to.

The first office of CSC RO XII was in the rented space at Tambo Building. It occupied the whole 3rd Floor of now Farmacia Victoria at the corncer of Sinsuat and S.K. Pendatun Avenue. The City of Cotabato, through Mayor Johnny J. Ty, donated the furniture as well as the office equipment. Being a pioneering office, daily routine focused on reconstruction and rectification of lapsed appointments.

Trainings focused on the Buklod ng mga Kabataang Kawani, Junior Executive Training (JET) and JET-Supervisory Training for Effective Administrative Management (JET-STREAM).

The first civil service examination was administered in 1976 while based in said Office.

As the demands of the service increased, the need for a spacious office which CSC RO XII can proudly say its own heightened. Through the assistance of Regional Commissioner Simeon A. Datumanong, it was able to acquire a building in the Office of the Regional Commissioner Compound (ORC) which was shared with the Commission on Audit Regional Office XII.


Under the guidance of Director Grace R. Belgado-Saqueton, CSC RO XII was conferred inn 2011 the citizen Satisfaction Center-Seal of Excellence Award (CSC-SEA) for earning an Excellent Rating from its clientele in the Report Card Survey (RCS) conducted by Pulse Asia. It again garnered the same award in 2013, also through the RCS conducted by the same poll body, and in 2012 under similar RCS conducted internally by CSC.

Also through her, the concerned efforts of the workforce earned for CSC RO XII the Red Orchid Award in 2013, 2014, and 2015 and a Hall of Fame Award by April 2016 conferred by the Department of Health for being  a champion in advocating 100% Smoke Free-Environment.

The CSC RO XII passed the Investors in People (IiP) Standard Accreditation on June 16, 2015 and shortly after six months the region was awarded with IiP Bronze Accreditation on November 27, 2015.

On March 19, 1999, CSC Resolution No. 99-0658 was passed and implemented by the Commission. It called for the regularization of CSC-ARMM as full-fledged regional office, transferring the provinces of Lano del Sur and Maguindanao from Region 12’s jurisdiction to ARMM, thus reducing the regional office’s area of coverage.

On September 19, 2001, by virtue of Section 4 of Executive Order No. 36, which provided for the reorganization of the administrative Regions in Mindanao and for other purposes, Region XII was reorganized as SOCCSKSARGEN. It is composed of provinces of South Cotabato, Cotabato, Sultan Kudarat, Sarangani; with the cities of General Santos, Cotabato, Kidapawan, Koronadal, and Tacurong. With the transfer of seat of government to Koronadal City, a three-storey Regional Office building is currently being constructed at the Government Center in Carpenter Hills, Koronadal City.

 To decentralize its functions for a more responsive and efficient delivery of public service, Field Offices were opened which were strategically located in Amas, Kidapawan City, Alabel, Sarangani Province, Isulan, Sultan Kudarat, Koronadal City in South Cotabato and in Cotabato City. These offices were headed by a Head of Civil Service Field Officer, or Director II, and aided by one organic staff.

To date CSC RO XII has forty two (42) regular employees and one (1) casual employee to effectively and efficiently usher it towards reaching its goals.