President Ferdinand R. Marcos Jr. led the conferment of awards to the 27 individuals and group winners of the 2023 Search for Outstanding Government Workers today, 14 February 2024, in Malacañang.

Together with the President during the awards rites were Civil Service Commission (CSC) Chairperson Karlo A. B. Nograles and CSC Commissioners Aileen Lourdes A. Lizada and Ryan Alvin R. Acosta.

“Today, we recognize our fellow civil servants who have honored their oaths of office with remarkable and honest work that has made a positive impact on the lives of the Filipino people. Standing solidly on our nation’s bedrock belief that public office is a public trust, our 2023 Outstanding Government Workers project the image of an ideal Filipino government worker,” said President Marcos.

Eight Presidential Lingkod Bayan awardees were honored during the ceremony, along with ten exemplars for the Outstanding Public Officials and Employees (Dangal ng Bayan) Award, and nine recipients for the CSC Pagasa Award.

Five educators and three teams were awarded the Presidential Lingkod Bayan, which is granted to those who have made exceptional contributions through innovative ideas or impactful actions of national significance, particularly in the areas of public interest, security, and patrimony. They are:

  • University Professor Orlando F. Balderama of the Isabela State University in Echague, Isabela;
  • SUC President IV Ambrosio B. Cultura II of the University of Science and Technology of Southern Philippines in Cagayan de Oro City;
  • Master Teacher I Kris Cristhopher C. Dela Cruz of Alaminos City National High School in Alaminos City;
  • Master Teacher I Raquel R. Rivera of Alaminos City National High School in Alaminos City;
  • Professor III Julie Ann A. Salido of Aklan State University in Banga, Aklan;
  • Baguio Lead Contact Tracing Team of the City Government of Baguio;
  • Landbank Agent Banking Program Team of the Landbank of the Philippines in Manila City; and
  • S-PaSS Core Team of the Department of Science and Technology (DOST) Region VI in Iloilo City.

Meanwhile, government employees from various national government agencies and local government units received the Dangal ng Bayan Award. This is conferred upon individuals for the performance of extraordinary acts of public service and consistent demonstration of exemplary ethical behavior, based on adherence to Republic Act No. 6713 or the Code of Conduct and Ethical Standards for Public Officials and Employees. The following are the 2023 Dangal ng Bayan Awardees:

  • Nutritionist-Dietician III Eleonor B. Ayan Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD) Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR) in Baguio City;
  • School Principal II Mary Hazel B. Ballena of the Department of Education (DepEd) Schools Division of Abra in Bangued, Abra;
  • Disability Affairs Officer III Rex A. Bernardo of the Provincial Government of Camarines Norte in Daet, Camarines Norte;
  • Social Welfare Officer I Bernardo T. Cadaon Jr. of DSWD CAR in Baguio City;
  • Utility Worker II Bernardino D. Dabuet of National Food Authority in Antipolo City;
  • Special Education Teacher I Gay D. Galdo of DepEd Division of Davao Oriental in Mati, Davao Oriental;
  • Information Technology Officer I Fritz J. Juele of DepEd Schools Division of Roxas City in Roxas City, Capiz;
  • Head Teacher III Glenny E. Laping of DepEd Lapu-Lapu Division Office in Lapu-Lapu City;
  • Master Teacher II Querino D. Lonsagon of DepEd Division of Ozamiz City in Carangan, Ozamiz City; and
  • Administrative Aide VI (Mechanic II) Fernando S. Viado of the City Government of Antipolo San Roque, Antipolo City, Rizal.

Lastly, the CSC Pagasa Award, given to an individual or group of individuals for outstanding contributions that directly benefit more than one department of the government, were presented to six individuals and three groups, namely:

  • Education Program Supervisor Venus M. Alboruto of DepEd Schools Division of Surigao City;
  • Senior Science Research Specialist Vanessa Joy F. Calderon of Department of Agriculture (DA) Regional Field Office II in Tuguegarao City;
  • Associate Professor V Drolly P. Claravall of Isabela State University - Ilagan Campus in Ilagan City;
  • Agricultural Center Chief IV Ericson N. Dela Cruz of Philippine Carabao Center in Muñoz City;
  • Director III Ronnalee N. Orteza of DOST Philippine Science High School System - Ilocos Region Campus in San Ildefonso, Ilocos Sur;
  • Agriculturist II Relvin B. Paragua of DA Regional Office IV in Iloilo City;
  • DOST – Philippine Nuclear Research Institute (PNRI) Honey Team of DOST-PNRI in Diliman, Quezon City;
  • Food Processing and Innovation Center Davao (FPIC-Davao) of DOST XI in Davao City; and
  • Palayamanan Project Team of Bulacan Agricultural State College in San Ildefonso, Bulacan.

“It is no accident nor coincidence that this Awards Rites coincide with the celebration of the Valentine’s Day and Ash Wednesday – days that we commemorate love and sacrifice – because it is also an opportune time to reflect on the important role of love in the life of a public servant, and we will do this today by honoring the outstanding public servants who have shown their love for our country through selfless service, dedication, and unwavering commitment to the welfare of others,” said Chairperson Nograles.

The annual Search for Outstanding Government Workers is in line with the CSC’s functions mandated by the 1987 Philippine Constitution and implemented pursuant to Executive Order (EO) No. 292 or the Administrative Code of 1987; EO No. 501, series of 1992, as amended by EO No. 77, series of 1993; and Republic Act No. 6713.

As provided under Section 35, Chapter 5, Book V of the Administrative Code of 1987, the CSC shall act as the Honor Awards Program (HAP) Secretariat and conduct the annual search for public exemplars.

Meanwhile, submission of nominations to the 2024 Search for Outstanding Government Workers is ongoing with the online submission deadline set for 31 March 2024.

For questions and clarifications, contact the HAP Secretariat through email at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or email the CSC’s Contact Center ng Bayan at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or text 0908-88-1-6565.