The Civil Service Commission (CSC) Chairperson honored outstanding civil servants during the CSC National Capital Region’s recognition rites for the national semi-finalists of the 2022 Search for Outstanding Government Workers.

During the event held on 14 November in a hotel in Quezon City, two (2) individuals and four (4) groups from the National Capital Region were recognized as National Semi-finalists of the Presidential Lingkod Bayan Award. They are:

  • Dr. Cynthia P. Saloma, Professor and Executive Director, Philippine Genome Center;
  • Executive Director Lilia T. Habacon, Philippine Science High School System;
  • Rice Business System Community Program of the Philippine Rice Research Institute, led by Ms. Aurora M. Corales;
  • Starbooks of the Science and Technology Information Institute, led by Mr. Alan C. Taule;
  • Digital Onboarding System Team of Land Bank of the Philippines, led by Senior Vice President Althon C. Ferolino; and
  • Cash Service Alliance Core Team of the Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas, led by Mr. Ralph Williams C. Meris.

The Presidential Lingkod Bayan Award is conferred on an individual or group for exceptional or extraordinary contributions resulting from an idea or performance that had a nationwide impact on public interest, security, and patrimony.

On the other hand, Mr. Francis R. Ribleza, Customer Care Officer at Land Bank of the Philippines, also from the National Capital Region, was recognized as National Semi-finalist of the Dangal ng Bayan Award.

The Dangal ng Bayan Award is conferred on an individual for the performance of an extraordinary act or public service and consistent demonstration of exemplary ethical behavior based on observance of the eight norms of conduct provided under Republic Act No. 6713 or the Code of Conduct and Ethical Standards for Public Officials and Employees.

In a message delivered during the event, Chairperson Nograles said, “Our honorees today are the epitomes of outstanding civil servants. As the central human resource agency of the bureaucracy, the CSC extends our gratitude for all that you have done and continue to do for the agency and for the communities you serve.”

He also called on them to continue serving as “beacons of inspiration” for their fellow civil servants. “Keep on leading the way and using your positive influence to create ripples of change in your unit, department, agency, and community,” he said.

Honor Awards Program

The annual Search for Outstanding Government Workers is part of the Commission’s Honor Awards Program (HAP). It aims to strengthen the merit and rewards system in the civil service by recognizing and honoring government officials and employees for their outstanding contributions and achievements in the delivery of public service.

Chairperson Nograles emphasized the significance of the awards program. “Sa pamamagitan ng HAP ay hindi lamang kinikilala ang mga natatanging kawani ng gobyerno at ang kanilang mga hindi matutumbasang serbisyo, kundi ang programang ito ay nagiging daan rin sa mas malalim pang layuning i-champion ang husay, integridad, at dangal sa burukrasya upang mas marami pa ang mapagsilbihan.”

He added, “Ang panalo ng ating mga lingkod bayan ay panalo rin ng mas marami pang Pilipino.”


The CSC, through its Regional and Field Offices, received a total of 408 nominations. The nominations were screened and deliberated upon by each CSC RO’s Regional Committee on Awards, composed of the Regional Director, Assistant Regional Director, Public Assistance and Liaison Division Chief, and two representatives from the Regional Multi-Sectoral Advisory Council, the Regional Council on Human Resource Management Practitioners, or the academe.

The regional screening yielded 147 regional winners, who are then recognized in separate awarding rites organized by the respective CSC ROs.

The regional winners’ nominations were further evaluated by the National HAP Secretariat, leading to 105 national qualifiers. These were then deliberated upon by the National Committees on Awards, namely, the Committee on the Presidential Lingkod Bayan and CSC Pagasa Awards, and the Committee on the Dangal ng Bayan Award. The national level screening produced the abovementioned, who are among the 41 national semi-finalists vying for the national awards.

After getting additional information on the national semi-finalists, the National Committees will once again convene to decide who will make it as CSC Pagasa and Dangal ng Bayan awardees, and Presidential Lingkod Bayan finalists who will be endorsed to the Office of the President for further vetting and selection of winners.